Détails

Vous voulez entendre un panel bispirituel sur la danse et l’entrée dans le cercle du Powwow ?

Rejoignez-nous pour apprendre de Tanner (il/ils), MC Snow (il/lui) et nikaronhyaa (ils/elle) !

Quand:  7 décembre 2023 à 17 h HE

Où: Zoom (Inscrivez-vous avant le 7 décembre à 9h HE pour recevoir le lien au préalable)

 

Rencontrez les conférenciers

Tanneur (il/ils) @tannerphillips1990 :

Kwe, je m'appelle Tanner Sha'tekenhatie Phillips.
Je m'appelle Kanien'kehá:ka, de Kahnawake, où je suis né, où j'ai grandi et où j'ai vécu la majeure partie de ma vie.
En 2019, à l'âge de 29 ans, je suis devenu Trans. Depuis, j'ai eu le temps de découvrir et d'en apprendre davantage sur mon identité de genre et ma culture. Grâce à ce voyage, j’ai découvert la danse pow-wow et cela m’a aidé à renouer avec de nombreux aspects de moi-même. J'ai hâte de partager des expériences et de nouer des liens avec des jeunes trans et bispirituels.

MC (il/lui) @Atehaw :

MC Snow est sculpteur et danseur de pow-wow. Il est sur la piste et se produit avec divers groupes depuis 1995. Au cours des 20 premières années, il a été danseur de châle fantaisie, de jingle et de danseuse traditionnelle féminine. Depuis 4 ans, il danse et commence à participer à des compétitions traditionnelles masculines seniors. An older person wearing regalia at a powwow

Aube (ils/elle) @Nikaronhyaa.crée :

Nikaronhya'a Dawn Martin est une Mohawk bispirituelle membre du clan des ours du territoire des Six Nations du territoire de Grand River. Ils ont des racines dans la Première Nation des Mississaugas de Credit. Nikaronhya'a parle la langue mohawk et enseigne la langue terrestre. Ils dansent depuis l’âge de 7 ans et dansent les chants sociaux Haudenosaunee, la danse de la fumée et les danses pow-wow dans des styles traditionnels et jingle. Nikaronhya'a est un artiste pratiquant intéressé par le travail et la revitalisation des textiles traditionnels. Ils sont apprentis tanneurs de peaux de cerfs et d'orignaux et tanneurs de peaux de poissons depuis cinq ans. Nikaronhya'a confectionne ses propres insignes et vêtements traditionnels depuis qu'elle est devenue couturière autodidacte. A young person wearing a straw hat and a ribbon skirt standing outside in a field

Inscrivez-vous à cet événement

Lieu

Zoom

Organisateur

Culturel et Bien-être

Pour plus d'informations

A close up image of a woman with shoulder length hair smiling.

Brooke Riz

Tisserand Culture & Bien-être

Details

Want to hear from a Two Spirit panel about dancing and entering the Powwow circle?

Join us as learn from Tanner (he/they), MC Snow (he/him), and nikaronhyaa (they/she)!

When:  December 7th, 2023 at 5pm ET

Where: Zoom (Register by Dec 7th at 9am ET to receive the link beforehand)

 

Meet the Speakers

Tanner (he/they) @tannerphillips1990 :

Kwe, my name is Tanner Sha’tekenhatie Phillips.
I am Kanien’kehá:ka from Kahnawake where I was born, raised and have lived most of my life.
In 2019, at the age of 29, I came out as Trans. Since then, I’ve had time to discover and learn more about my gender identity and culture. Through that journey, I discovered pow wow dancing and it has helped me to reconnect with many aspects of myself. I look forward to sharing experiences and connecting with Trans and Two Spirit youth.

MC (he/him) @Atehaw :

M.C Snow is a sculptor and powwow dancer and has been on the trail and performing with various groups since 1995. For the first 20 years as fancy shawl, jingle, and women’s traditional dancer. For the last 4 years he has been dancing and beginning to compete in senior men’s traditional. An older person wearing regalia at a powwow

Dawn (they/she) @Nikaronhyaa.creates:

Nikaronhya’a Dawn Martin is a two-spirit Mohawk, bear clan person from Six Nations of the Grand River Territory. They have roots to the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. Nikaronhya’a is a Mohawk language speaker and land-based teacher. They have been dancing since the age of 7 and they dance Haudenosaunee social songs, smoke dance, and pow wow dances in traditional and jingle styles. Nikaronhya’a is a practicing artist interested in working with and revitalizing traditional textiles. They have been an apprentice deer and moose hide tanner and fish skin tanner for the past five years. Nikaronhya’a has been making their own regalia and traditional clothing since becoming a self-taught seamstress. A young person wearing a straw hat and a ribbon skirt standing outside in a field

Register for this event

Venue

Zoom

Organizer

Cultural and Wellness

For More Information

A close up image of a woman with shoulder length hair smiling.

Brooke Rice

Culture & Wellness Weaver